You are here

UKRI chief executive briefs RSB Member Organisations on the future of UK research

UKRI chief executive Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser has set out her vision for the UK’s research landscape in the coming years at an online meeting of the RSB’s Member Organisations.

School teacher of the year award for “the very best of biology teaching”

Paul Downie from Hyndland Secondary School, Glasgow, has won this year’s RSB School Biology Teacher of the Year Award.

Students in all UK nations awarded grades this week

Today students in England, Northern Ireland and Wales received AS level, A level and vocational and technical qualification awards, and in Scotland National 4 and 5, Higher and Advanced Highers. GCSE students will receive awards on Thursday 12 August.

2020 animal research national statistics released

There were a total of 2.88 million regulated procedures involving live animals completed in 2020.

Links Day brings an international community together to discuss climate change

Links Day, a staple event in the Parliamentary science calendar, this year brought together keynote talks and panel discussions on climate change with a range of policymakers, politicians and sector leaders.

Bioscientists recognised in Queen’s birthday honours list

Members of the bioscience community have been recognised for their work in this year’s birthday honours list, with many having been directly involved in COVID-19 efforts.

Shortlist announced for RSB School Biology Teacher of the Year Award 2021

Three teachers have been shortlisted for the Royal Society of Biology School Biology Teacher of the Year Award 2021.

COVID-19 experts come together to discuss vaccine development and lessons learned from the pandemic so far

A panel of experts came together to discuss translational research successes and lessons learned from the COVID-19 pandemic, as part of the RSB’s ongoing Policy Lates event series.

RSB welcomes Sir Ian Boyd as the next President at this year’s AGM

The Society is pleased to announce that its next President will be the marine biologist and Government scientific adviser Professor Sir Ian Boyd FRS FRSB.

Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year 2021 winner announced

Dr Nigel Francis, an associate professor at Swansea Medical School, has been announced as this year’s Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year.