You are here

Our Honorary Fellows listed by surname:

A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z

Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO FZS FSA CBE FRS Hon FRSB

Sir David is a celebrated broadcaster and naturalist. After studying natural sciences at Cambridge, Attenborough embarked on a successful career in television and is considered by many to be the face and voice of natural history. His many documentaries over the past 50 years and more, such as the Life BBC series, have brought the beauty of nature to the attention of mainstream audiences. A video of Sir David 'in conversation' at the RSB's 2015 fundraising event is available on YouTube.


Professor Black is director of the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification at the University of Dundee. She is a founder and past president of the British Association for Human Identification and advisor to the Home Office and Interpol on issues pertaining to forensic anthropology in disaster victim identification (DVI). She is Patron of the Dundee Women in Science Festival and a Wolfson research merit award holder. Professor Black is Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Anthropological Institute, the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh). She was awarded an OBE in 2001 for her services to forensic anthropology in Kosovo, the Lucy Mair medal for humanitarian services in 2008, a police commendation for DVI training and in 2013 CAHID was awarded the Queen's Anniversary Prize for excellence in higher education.

Sir Thomas Blundell FRS FRSC FMedSci MAE Hon FRSB 

Sir Thomas is a British biochemist, structural biologist, and science administrator. He was a member of the team of Dorothy Hodgkin that solved in 1969 the first structure of a protein hormone, insulin. Sir Thomas has made contributions to the structural biology of polypeptide hormones, growth factors, receptor activation, signal transduction, and DNA double-strand break repair, subjects important in cancer, tuberculosis, and familial diseases. In 1999 he co-founded the oncology company Astex Therapeutics, which has moved 10 drugs into clinical trials. Sir Thomas has played central roles in restructuring British research councils and, as President of the UK Science Council, in developing professionalism in the practice of science.

Professor Sir Stephen Bloom Hon FRSB

Professor Bloom is the head of division for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism, chair of the academic Section of Investigative Medicine at Imperial College London and chief of service for pathology at Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust. He is a leading expert on obesity and currently leads a research group investigating hypothalamic appetite control systems and gut hormones. This group's discovery that oxyntomodulin reduces appetite offers a potential new treatment for obesity. In 2012, Professor Bloom was knighted for his service to health and has sat on numerous committees, including the MRC Advisory Board and the Royal College of Physicians.

Professor Sir Gordon Conway KCMG FRGS FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Sir Gordon is currently professor of international development at Imperial College London where his work focuses on the crucial role science can play in poverty reduction. He trained in agricultural ecology and pioneered of sustainable agriculture in the 1960s, developing integrated pest management programmes in Malaysia. He has held many significant posts, including: president of the Royal Geographical Society; director of the Sustainable Agriculture Programme at IIED; vice-chancellor of the University of Sussex; president of The Rockefeller Foundation; and the first ever chief scientific adviser to the Department for International Development.

Professor Brian Cox CBE FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Cox works at CERN in Geneva on the ATLAS experiment, studying the forward proton detectors for the Large Hadron Collider there. He is based at The University of Manchester as a research fellow and works in the High Energy Physics group. Cox was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the Queen's 2010 Birthday Honours for services to science.

Professor Richard Dawkins FRSL FRS Hon FRSB

Professor Dawkins is an evolutionary biologist, ethologist and author of many notable books including The Selfish Gene, The Blind Watchmaker and The God Delusion. He is famous for popularising the view that the gene is the principal unit of selection in evolution and, more recently, for his outspoken atheist beliefs. He is the founder of the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science, and the former Charles Simonyi professor of the public understanding of science at Oxford University. Read an interview with Professor Dawkins in The Biologist.

Sir Martin Evans FRS FMedSci Hon FRSB

Sir Martin is a developmental biologist and received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, along with Mario Capecchi and Oliver Smithies, in recognition of their work in the development of the knockout mouse and the related technology of gene targeting. Sir Martin is a Fellow of the Royal Society and a founder Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. He was awarded the prestigious Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research in the US in 2001.

Richard Fortey FRS FRSL Hon FRSB

Richard is a British palaeontologist, natural historian, writer and television presenter, who served as President of the Geological Society of London for its bicentennial year of 2007. Richard studies the evolution of arthropods and has a particular interest in the long-extinct marine arthropods, trilobites - one of the earliest groups of arthropods in existence.

Fiona Fox OBE Hon FRSB

Fiona Fox is chief executive of the Science Media Centre and her career includes periods working for the Equal Opportunities Committee, the National Council for One Parent Families, and CAFOD (a leading aid agency). As the founding director of the Science Media Centre, established in 2002, Fiona has led the Centre to become an indispensable resource for science journalists. Fiona has received many accolades for her services to science, including an OBE, honorary fellowships of the Academy of Medical Science and British Pharmacology Society, and a special award for promoting openness in animal research.


A - F     G - K     L - R     S - Z