You are here

On Wednesday 1st October the Society of Biology elected 500 new members including 49 new Fellows.

Nobel Prize winner, Sir Tim Hunt was elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Society.

Sir Tim is a world-renowned authority on the control of cell division. In 2001 he shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Paul Nurse and Leland Hartwell for their discoveries of the key regulators of the cell cycle.

Professor Polly Roy OBE was elected as a Fellow of the Society.

Professor Roy joined the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in 2001 as Professor and Chair of Virology. Her group's work has made significant contributions to understanding the basic biology of orbiviruses particularly bluetongue virus, with serious health and economic impacts.

Professor Nigel Halford was also elected as a Fellow.

Professor Halford is a programme leader at Rothamsted Research. His team work on the genetics of metabolic regulation in crop plants, how plant metabolism is affected by stress and how it can be manipulated to improve crop yield and food safety.

The Society of Biology now has over 15,500 members.

Find out more about becoming a member.