You are here

The Royal Society of Biology is pleased to announce the names of the three teachers shortlisted for the 2017 School Biology Teacher of the Year Award. The award seeks to identify and recognise the very best and most inspiring biology teachers in 11-18 education in the UK.

The following three teachers have been selected as the finalists for 2017:
Katie Estruch, Woodford County High School, Woodford Green
Miriam Langdon, Hasmonean High School, London
Leah McClure, Colton Hills Community School, Wolverhampton

Dr Mark Downs CSci FRSB, chief executive of the Royal Society of Biology said:
“Great teachers bring out the best in their students and brighten the future for us all. We are delighted to highlight outstanding teachers and to celebrate their success. These three teachers have been selected from a talented cohort and we look forward to seeing their lesson plans for the next stage of this competition.”

For the final stage of judging the three finalists will submit a short case study which highlights how they have enhanced their students’ learning. The winner’s case study will be made available on the Society's website following the announcement of the winner later this year.

The winner will receive £500 for themselves and up to £500 of free Oxford University Press resources for their school. The winner will also receive a prize from UK 3B Scientific Ltd for their classroom.