You are here

The Royal Society of Biology is pleased to announce the four teachers shortlisted for the 2016 School Biology Teacher of the Year Award. The award seeks to identify and recognise the very best and most inspiring biology teachers in 11-18 education in the UK.

The following four teachers have been selected as the finalists for 2016:
Thandiwe Banda, Teddington School, Middlesex
Lynne Chambers, Greenacre School For Girls, Banstead
David Fox Teasdale, Bolton School Boys’ Division, Greater Manchester
Robin Walker, High Tunstall College of Science, County Durham

In addition Harriet Lawrence, Park Hall Academy, West Midlands, was highly commended by the judges.

Mrs Beverley Goodger CBiol MRSB, chair of the judging panel and former School Biology Teacher of the Year said:
“It was great to see such a strong field of nominated teachers for this year's award. The judging team are looking forward to meeting the shortlisted teachers when they visit their schools.”

Dr Mark Downs CSci FRSB, chief executive of the Royal Society of Biology said:
“Excellent teachers have a profound and positive effect on their students’ learning; widening their career choices and increasing their self-confidence and aspirations. The entrants for this year’s award are teaching outstanding and innovative lessons which inspire and enthuse their students. Many congratulations to our shortlisted and highly commended teachers.”

For the final stage of judging the four finalists will submit a short case study which highlights how they have enhanced their students’ learning. These case studies will be made publicly available on the Society's website following the announcement of the winner later this year.

The winner will receive £500 for themselves and up to £500 of free Oxford University Press resources for their school. The winner will also receive prizes from UK 3B Scientific Ltd and STEM Learning for their classroom.