You are here

The Royal Society of Biology offers its sincerest congratulations to four of its Fellows for being elected as Fellows of the Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of sciences.

Hailing from top academic institutions in the UK, the Fellows voted in are leaders in their fields. They are recognised for their outstanding contributions to biology with their work ranging across polar marine biology, cell signalling, molecular neuroscience, and macromolecular structure and function.

The Fellows in question are as follows:

Professor Lloyd Peck FRS FRSB

Science Leader, British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge

Professor Bart Vanhaesebroeck FRS FRSB

Professor of Cell Signalling, Research Department of Oncology, Cancer Institute, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University College London

Professor William Wisden FMedSci FRS FRSB

Chair of Molecular Neuroscience, Department of Life Sciences, Imperial College London

Professor Xiaodong Zhang FRS FRSB

Professor of Macromolecular Structure and Function, Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College London and The Francis Crick Institute

Headshots of three Fellows side by side

RSB Fellows elected to Royal Society's Fellowship, from left to right: Professor Xiaodong Zhang FRS FRSB, Professor Lloyd Peck FRS FRSB, and Professor Bart Vanhaesebroeck FRS FRSB

As a membership organisation RSB relies on the support of our Fellows and members to influence policy, advance education and professional development, and encourage public interest in the life sciences.

If you would like to know more about our Fellowship programme or about becoming a Fellow, please email: