You are here

Nominations are now open for the Royal Society of Biology’s prestigious HE Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award 2016.

The Award seeks to identify the UK's leading bioscience teachers, recognising the invaluable role they play in educating and inspiring the next generation of biologists at university.

The winner receives the Ed Wood Memorial Prize of £1,000, one year's subscription to an OUP journal of their choice, and one year's free Membership of the Royal Society of Biology. They will also gain a free place at the Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS) Spring Meeting.

Teachers should apply via the Society website by 6th November. For the first time this year we are also allowing students to suggest nominations.

Last year's winner, Dr Mark Clements FRSB of Westminster University, impressed the judging panel with his interdisciplinary approach combining the arts and sciences. He said:
“It’s a great feeling to have my teaching practice recognised. This award provides a fantastic opportunity to share the way in which I use technology to support learning, as well as how I inspire students to engage with interdisciplinary research and learning.”

The scheme rewards lecturers who: have proven success in promoting student achievement; undertake professional development; support colleagues; and exhibit innovation.

“This Award places an important spotlight on HE teachers who push the boundaries of support for their students, colleagues and the wider HE landscape”, said Sarah Cox CSciTeach MRSB, schools and education policy manager at the Royal Society of Biology. “Previous winners have been nothing but exceptional and I have no doubt will we see this again in the 2016 Award.”

The award is generously supported by Oxford University Press and Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS).