You are here

The Society of Biology is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2015 Higher Education (HE) Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award.

The award seeks to identify the UK's leading bioscience university teachers, and recognise and reward the invaluable role played by teachers in higher education.

We received a high calibre of nominees and the judges have shortlisted the following individuals as the 2015 finalists, listed in alphabetical order:
Dr Alan Cann, University of Leicester
Dr Mark Clements, University of Westminster
Dr Dave Lewis, University of Leeds
Dr Sohag Saleh, Imperial College London

Rachel Lambert-Forsyth CBiol CSci MSB, director of education and training at the Society of Biology said:
“This year’s award yet again highlights the invaluable role played by teachers in Higher Education. The shortlisted individuals displayed a dedicated commitment to student learning through their outstanding, innovative and research-based teaching. Congratulations to the four finalists who each play such a vital role in inspiring and educating the next generation of biologists.”

For the final stage of judging, the finalists will submit a short case study which highlights how they have enhanced bioscience student learning. These case studies will be made publicly available on the Society's website following the announcement of the overall winner at the Heads of University Biosciences (HUBs) Spring Meeting on 6-7th May 2015.