You are here

Professor Sir John Holman is representing the Council for Mathematical Sciences, Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Biology and Royal Society of Chemistry as a member of the Government’s High Level Stakeholder Working Group on EU Exit, Universities, Research and Innovation.

The overarching purpose of the group is to provide a forum for government departments BEIS, DfE, and DExEU, to discuss issues of common interest in approaching the UK’s exit from the EU with a broad range of UK representatives of the universities, science, research and innovation communities.

Sir John, President of the Royal Society of Chemistry, said: “I am very pleased to be able to represent our four organisations, to give a balanced view of the implications of leaving the EU across science and mathematics. I will be working in close partnership with senior representatives and staff from all of those organisations and I look forward to participating in open and in-depth discussions with other stakeholders.

Professor Dame Jean Thomas, President of the Royal Society of Biology, said: “Many of the important issues that we must discuss with Government in preparation for Brexit negotiations are shared concerns across the sciences. Our four organisations are delighted to work together; by doing so we can give weight to areas of common importance and prominence to specific issues. We look forward to hearing more from the biological community to bring to our discussion.”

The Government announcement is available online.

For more updates see our Biosciences and Europe page.