You are here

Dr Kevin Coward CBiol FRSB, Dr Katharine Hubbard and Dr Lesley Morrell have been shortlisted for the Royal Society of Biology Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award.

The final three are hoping to win the £1,000 prize when the winner is announced on 4th May, at the Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS) Spring Meeting dinner in Leicester.
HE BTOY Coward
On receiving news of being shortlisted Dr Coward, director of the MSc in clinical embryology at the University of Oxford said: "I am thrilled to have been selected as a finalist for such a prestigious award and delighted that the innovative teaching styles being developed on the Oxford MSc in clinical embryology are being recognised at a national level.”

HE BTOY Hubbard
Dr Hubbard, a lecturer in biological sciences at the University of Hull said: "I am delighted and somewhat overwhelmed to have been nominated. I love working with students to uncover their passion for biology, and to have my work recognised by the Royal Society of Biology is a great honour."

He BTOY Morrell
Dr Morrell, a senior lecturer in evolutionary biology, also at the University of Hull said: “I was surprised and delighted to be shortlisted for this award, and it means a lot to me that my teaching has been recognised in this way.”

The Royal Society of Biology offers the annual award to teachers who have shown an outstanding contribution to higher education in the biosciences. The scheme rewards lecturers who have developed innovative and inspirational teaching methods, as well as undertaken professional development and supported colleagues.

Rachel Lambert-Forsyth CBiol CSci MRSB, director of education and training at the Royal Society of Biology said: “This year’s award yet again highlights the invaluable role played by teachers in higher education. The shortlisted individuals displayed a dedicated commitment to student learning through their outstanding, innovative and research-based teaching. Congratulations to the three finalists who each play such a vital role in inspiring and educating the next generation of biologists.”

The winner receives the Ed Wood Memorial Prize of £1,000 to spend as they wish; one year's subscription to an Oxford University Press (OUP) journal of their choice; and one year's free membership of the Royal Society of Biology. The remaining finalists receive £150 and one year's free membership of the RSB.

The shortlisted candidates were nominated by their colleagues who described how their teaching practices have benefited the students’ learning experience. For the final round, they will now be asked to write up case studies and present them to a judging panel in London, followed by an interview. The case studies will be publicly available on the Society's website in March 2016.

This award is made possible through sponsorship from Oxford University Press (OUP) and Heads of University Biosciences (HUBS).