You are here

The Society of Biology is delighted that eight of its Fellows have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours list 2014. They are:

  • Professor Douglas Bruce Kell CBE, formerly chief executive, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, for services to science and research.
  • Professor David Bradley Morton CBE, veterinarian, for services to the UK and international veterinary profession especially animal welfare and ethics.  
  • Professor Richard Parish CBE, formerly chief executive, Royal Society for Public Health, for services to public health.
  • Kenneth Albert Applebee OBE, Member, Council of the Institute for Animal Technology, for services to animal technician education and animal technology.
  • Professor Nigel Leslie Brown OBE, president, Society for General Microbiology and emeritus professor of molecular microbiology, University of Edinburgh, for services to science.  
  • Professor Mary Alice Ritter OBE, chief executive officer, Climate-KIC, for services to scientific research and innovation.  
  • Dr Barbara Knowles MBE, senior science policy adviser at the Society of Biology, for services to science communication and the environment.
  • Dr Nigel Wells Kerby MBE, managing director, Mylnefield Research Services Ltd, for services to business and science.

Dr Mark Downs FSB, chief executive of the Society of Biology, says: "We are extremely pleased to again be reminded of the diverse ways in which our Fellows contribute to science and society. Many congratulations to these Fellows for their achievements.”